Ever since I was young I knew I wanted to dance and help others, as I grew older I was determined to find a career path that combined those two things. My interdisciplinary studies major combines the disciplines of Social Work, Psychology, and dance to prepare me for receiving my Masters in Dance/Movement Therapy. I just wanted to add a quick post about what exactly Dance/Movement Therapy is.

“Based on the empirically supported premise that the body, mind and spirit are interconnected, the American Dance Therapy Association defines dance/movement therapy as the psychotherapeutic use of movement to further the emotional, cognitive, physical and social integration of the individual.
Dance/movement therapy is:
Focused on movement behavior as it emerges in the therapeutic relationship. Expressive, communicative, and adaptive behaviors are all considered for group and individual treatment. Body movement, as the core component of dance, simultaneously provides the means of assessment and the mode of intervention for dance/movement therapy.
Is practiced in mental health, rehabilitation, medical, educational and forensic settings, and in nursing homes, day care centers, disease prevention, health promotion programs and in private practice.
Is effective for individuals with developmental, medical, social, physical and psychological impairments.
Is used with people of all ages, races and ethnic backgrounds in individual, couples, family and group therapy formats.”

One thought on “Dance/Movement Therapy

  1. This is AMAZING! Seriously though what a cool and wonderful career goal. I honestly have never really heard of dance/movement therapy, I’ve only every really heard about music therapy. I am very excited to see the work that you will do throughout this senior seminar course and especially excited to see the ideas you come up with for our final project! Also I love your website!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

