IDS Application Essay

Youth Services Through Dance

The ideas and issues of my major focus on creating an environment that deals with the emotional, social, and physical needs of children addressed through dance. The Social Work discipline works to improve the quality of life of individuals, groups, communities, and families. The Psychology discipline focuses on personality, social behavior, and human development, while dance works with dance education, history, and technique of dancing. The combination of these three disciplines are important in trying to reach my career goals. Having the skill sets of dealing with human behavior and different social environments, and a knowledge of dance with both performance and teaching skills, puts me in a great place of reaching children through the art of dance. No one major has the combination of these skills. My goal is to receive my masters in Dance/Movement Therapy such as the ones offered at Pratt Institute and Lesley University. DMT uses movement and dance to support emotional, intellectual, and motor functions of the body. I hope to work in schools and within hospitals, mainly children’s hospitals, to help patients cope with all sorts of diseases. These diseases can vary from cancer to anorexia. In cases such as cancer DMT could be used to regain strength both physically and mentally. Anorexic patients could benefit from Dance/Movement Therapy to regain self confidence.

There are a variety of different dance courses that are vital for my education. The first category of classes of which I will be taking deal with technique and performance. Advanced ballet, advanced tap, advanced jazz, advanced modern, and contemporary dance ensemble all strengthen my knowledge, understanding, and skills for my own personal dancing and performance abilities. I need to be strong within these genres of dance in order to properly educate my future students and pass my skills and technique onto them. The second category of dance classes in which I will take is the educational aspect of dance. Dance Pedagogy I and II certifies me with the ability to teach the art of dance in school systems. These are vital classes for me within this discipline because one of my goals is to work with students in schools. Dance composition teaches me multiple different skills and ways of looking at movement and placement on stage in mastering the ability to choreograph dances. Lastly History of Modern Dance and Technique looks into the history of dance, where it has come from and what it is evolving into. This wide range of dance courses will make me a well rounded dancer, choreographer, and educator.

Because I am planning on working within school systems and children’s hospitals my disciplines of Social Work deal with children. The range of courses that I have selected to put together for my contract will give me a well rounded mind set for dealing with issues in the lives of children. The first course I have selected is Introduction to Social Work. This introduces core values, practices, and the history of social work, and will ensure I have a basic understanding of how this field works. Next I chose Child Welfare and Family Services to educate me with knowledge involving foster care, and child protective services. Another course in which I found to be necessary is Child Maltreat. Working in both the hospital and school systems I will have to deal with many issues present in student’s personal lives. This course will educate me with topics in interventions to prevent or remedy child maltreatment, abuse, neglect, family violence and psychological maltreatment. Upon these subjects the course Families, Schools, and Community deal with problems and issues, including effective parenting, abuse and neglect, substance abuse, juvenile delinquency and insufficient family supports and resources. This provides overview of role of schools and communities in promotion of healthy families and considers models for prevention, assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Philosophical and Historical Perspective on the Child in Society (WRCO) deals with culture’s beliefs, and ideologies and how those are reflected in the education and treatment of children. These are all topics to keep in mind with working in hospitals and schools, since children come from all different backgrounds, values, and beliefs.

Introduction to General Psychology will allow me to focus on specific areas in science and study of behavior and mental processes. Psychology has vital information I need in being able to understand individuals and groups by establishing both general principles and researching specific cases. The ultimate aim of Psychology is to benefit society, and that is my ultimate goal as well. Measuring Behavior (TECO) will help me learn how to use technologies to work with relevant data in my field.

Since a young age I was always sure of just two things. First that I love to help others in anyway I can. The second being that I love to dance. Entering Plymouth State University I was completely unsure of what it was that I wanted to study. When I discovered the interdisciplinary studies program I instantly had an idea of what I wanted to create. I found it to be extremely difficult, yet rewarding to be apart of the interdisciplinary major. I love the sense of uniqueness that I can bring to the table in our work force. I feel that it is important to study what interests and best suits you. Interdisciplinary studies allowed me to pinpoint my exact interests and will enable me to thrive as a student, and future employer. Being able to mix disciplines of Plymouth States social work and psychology major, and dance minor has given me an interdisciplinarian quality that many other students can not say that they have achieved. I look forward to graduating with a unique degree titled “Youth Services Through Dance” and being able to say that I have created a major that best captivates who I am as a student and worker.

One thought on “IDS Application Essay

  1. Hi Marina!
    I really like the program that you have created and what you want to do with it. It is so great that you want to use dance to help others who may have a number of issues they have to deal with. It is hard at times to express one self and dance is a great tool to help reach people and provides so many other great benefits. I don’t know too much about the psychology or social work courses you have included in your program but they definitely look like they will be important tools in your future. Your program is very unique and I am sure it will prepare you for graduate school as well as the workforce. I am excited to see dance getting more exposure and the public becoming more educated about it. I look forward to seeing your capstone project and am sure you will be a great dance therapist!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

